The 5 Love Languages and Your Child

Did you know your child has a love language? (and so do you)

Of all the millions of people in the world, no two are exactly the same. Each of us has a combination of personality and characteristics that is truly unique. Although however different we may be, according to Dr. Gary Chapman, we all receive and express love in our relationships in one of five ways.  He calls this our “love language.” Your love language may be words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, or physical touch.

Understanding your own love language and that of those you care about, especially your children, can strengthen your relationships. Paying attention to your child’s love language can deepen your connection and help you show them love in a way that they’ll truly feel and appreciate.

Discovering Your Child’s Love Language

You can discover your child’s love language by observing how they express love to you and others, and by noticing what they request or complain about the most. Pay attention to how they receive your expressions of love (you might want to start by taking time to reflect on the ways you tend to show your love to your child). You can also ask your child directly about their love language. Explain to them what the five love languages are and ask them which ones they relate to the most. You can even take an online quiz with your child to determine their love language.

The 5 Love Languages

Words of Affirmation

Does your child light up when they receive compliments or encouragement? Then words of affirmation might be their love language. These kiddos feel loved when they hear positive comments and support from their family members. They appreciate it when their efforts and accomplishments are acknowledged.

Acts of Service

Is your child a fan of actions over words? Then acts of service might be their love language. These little ones feel loved when their family members help them out with their tasks or chores or do something for them without being asked.

Receiving Gifts

Do your children feel special when they receive presents, no matter how big or small? Then receiving gifts might be their love language. They value the thought and effort behind a gift and feel loved when their family members show that they’re thinking of them.

Quality Time

Do your children love spending one-on-one time with family members? Then quality time might be their love language. These kiddos feel loved when their family members give them their undivided attention and are fully present in the moment.

Physical Touch

Do your children crave hugs, holding hands, and other forms of physical affection? Then physical touch might be their love language. Physical touch helps these children feel secure and loved.

Once you’ve discovered your child’s love language, you can make them feel loved in a way “they” understand, bringing you even closer, and creating a happier, more loving family dynamic.